

## Awards - Sunday, August 17, 2014

**The Brilliance Award** - Presented to the owner of the car with Exceptional History and Unquestionable Provenance.

<u>Winner</u>: To George Wingard – for the actual 1914 Mercedes-Benz that won the 1914 French Grand Prix.

**Best Paddock Display** – Presented to the best paddock display representative of the era:

Winner: Ron Goodman

**Henry Ford Trophy** – Presented to the most significant Ford-powered entry **Winner**: Stephen Sorenson for his 1964 Sunbeam Tiger powered by a Ford 289

**Spirit of Historic Can-Am Racing** – Presented for Excellence.

**Winner**: Tom Malloy for his 1971 McLaren M8E

**Ken Miles Trophy -** Presented for the representation of a vintage car under 1500cc **Winner**: Jimmy Domingos for his 1956 Cooper T-39 Bobtail

**Monterey Reunion Pre-War Trophy Presented by the Gary Byrd Foundation** - Presented to the most outstanding Pre-War entry

Winner: Jan Voboril for a 1925 Bugatti Type 35

**The Phil Remington Award** - Presented to the mechanic who demonstrates exceptional skill.

**Winner**: Craig Pence on Rick Knoop's McLaren M8F

**The President's Cup** – Presented to the entrant whose car has historical significance to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Winner: Bill Warner for his Group 44 1971 Triumph TR6 that last ran here 40 years ago

**The Founders Trophy** – This award is presented to the person who richly personifies historic racing.

Winner: Bob Baker in his 1977 Ralt RT-1

**The John Fitch Corvette Excellence Award** – Presented to the most outstanding Corvette entry

Winner: Tommy Steuer for his 1965 Chevrolet Corvette

**Bonhams 1793 Cup** - Presented to participants in the featured morning races that best exemplifies the spirit of the event.

Race 3A - Adrian Van Der Kroft and his 1959 Morgan 4

Race 7A – Bill Ockerlund and his 1969 Ford Mustang Boss 302

Race 2B - Edith Arrowsmith and her 1964 McLaren-Elva M1A

Race 8B – Bill Cord and his 1977 Chevron B39

## The Rolex Award for Excellence – From Rolex Watch USA ... Colette Bennett

Presented for Overall Excellence in each race category, as determined by an independent panel of judges.

## Winners:

Rolex Race 1A - Richard Jeffrey - 1936 Triumph Special 9

Rolex Race 2A – Jeffrey O'Neil - 1957 Maserati 250F

Rolex Race 3A - Kaid Marouf - 1960 Alfa Romeo SZ

Rolex Race 4A – Dale Akuszwski - 1965 Sunbeam Tiger

Rolex Race 5A – Steve Walker - 1973 BMW CSL

Rolex Race 6A – Jurgen Boden - 1961 Maserati Tipo 63

Rolex Race 7A – Richard Goldsmith - 1970 Dodge Challenger

Rolex Race 1B – Ed Nigro - 1960 Lola Mk 1

Rolex Race 2B – Lyn St. James - 1963 Lotus 23B

Rolex Race 3B – Chris MacAllister - 1971 McLaren M8F

Rolex Race 4B – Alex MacAllister - 1971 Chevron B19

Rolex Race 5B – Alex Curtis - 1955 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gullwing

Rolex Race 6B – Russell Kempnich - 1984 Porsche 956C

Rolex Race 7B - Dave Stone - 1970 Datsun 240Z

Rolex Race 8B – Danny Baker - 1979 Ralt RT-1

**The Spirit of Monterey –** Presented to the driver who excels in the Spirit of the weekend

**Winner**: Mike Eddy – 1964 Ford Falcon